

Universidad de Puerto Rico

Facultad

Statement from Faculty Members of the University of Puerto Rico School of Law Regarding Threats to Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Initiatives April 8, 2025

(English version)

We, the undersigned faculty members of the University of Puerto Rico School of Law, in response to threats against diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives, feel compelled to express ourselves and publicly reaffirm our commitment to the School of Law's policy, which was unanimously approved by our Faculty on December 3, 2024. The policy reads as follows:

DIVERSITY, EQUITY, INCLUSION AND BELONGING

The University of Puerto Rico School of Law is committed to the existence of a diverse community in all its manifestations. Diversity provides alternative perspectives, enriches experiences within the Law School, and is an essential component for building both a culture of institutional equity and shaping the professional identity of jurists. The diverse backgrounds of each person fundamentally influence their vision of the Law and the way they learn it.

The Law School recognizes that accessible legal education is a necessary condition for access to justice. Furthermore, it acknowledges that, given the socioeconomic inequality gap and demographic challenges facing our country, it is imperative that the institution's activities, in all aspects, promote the access and inclusion of individuals from diverse and historically excluded communities.

The Law School aspires to be an academic center focused on accessible legal education and on the reflection, analysis and practice of Law as an instrument of social transformation, with a perspective of justice that cultivates human dignity. To these ends, the Law School adopts the paradigm of intersectionality to foster an environment that generates a sense of belonging, provides the necessary support and conditions to remain in the Law School, and promotes the full development of all members of the community. The Law School will not discriminate against any person on the basis of race, color, gender, socioeconomic status, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, functional diversity, age, birth, national origin, foreign status, immigration status, diasporic condition, native language or accent, marital status, political or religious beliefs, appearance, pregnancy, caregiving responsibilities, being or having been a victim of gender-based violence, being a person deprived of liberty, military or veteran status, and any other consideration based on prejudices and stereotypes. The School is committed to providing a dignified, inclusive and equitable environment for all people across all areas of its operations.

To build a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusion, the Law School has undertaken and will continue to implement multiple initiatives involving the different operational areas of the institution that impact both its internal community and the broader external community. The composition, operations, activities, services, interactions, and use of information and communication technologies in the Law School will effectively embody these principles of essential human dignity.

Any attempt to prevent the execution of the aforementioned policy constitutes a violation of academic freedom. Therefore, we also reaffirm our role as educators and unequivocally condemn any initiative that seeks to undermine the academic freedom of the University and all those who comprise our academic community.

Signed by:

Aníbal Acevedo Vilá
Yara I. Alma Bonilla
José A. Alvarado Vázquez
José Julián Álvarez González
Rubén Berríos Martínez
Yanis Blanco Santiago
Georgina Candal Segurola
Manuel Clavell Carrasquillo
Laura M. Coss Guzmán
Carmelo Delgado Cintrón
Érika Fontánez Torres
Celeste E. Freytes González
María de los Á. Garay
Emmalind García García
María del Rosario García Miranda

Chloé Georas Santos
Vivian González-Méndez
Belén Guerrero Calderón
Carolyn Guzmán Agosto
Cristina Hernández González
Mariana I. Hernández Gutiérrez
María E. Hernández Torrales
Mariluz Jiménez Colón
Glenda Labadie Jackson
Wilbert López Moreno
Alfonso Martínez Piovanetti
Hiram Meléndez Juarbe
Mildred Meléndez Otero
Oscar Miranda Miller
Nilda M. Navarro-Cabrer

Mildred Negrón-Martínez
Vivian Neptune Rivera
Luis Pellot Juliá
Miguel Á. Rivera Álvarez
Efrén Rivera Ramos
Mayté Rivera Rodríguez
Griselle M. Robles Ortiz
Luis E. Rodríguez Rivera
Anabelle Rodríguez Rodríguez
Iris Rosario Nieves
Pedro Saadé Lloréns
Samuel Serrano Medina
Susana Serrano Mondesí
Maria Teresa Szendrey Ramos
Jorge Toledo Reyna